2013 California Meeting
Executive Committee
Ablin Lecture
Cloward Award
Forms & Documents

2016: Larry R. Squire, PhD
Jon Hobson Robertson
Larry Squire
Dr. Larry R. Squire is Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry, Neurosciences, and Psychology at the University of California School of Medicine, San Diego, and Research Career Scientist at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center, San Diego. Born in Cherokee, Iowa, he received his undergraduate degree from Oberlin College (Psychology), his Ph.D. degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Brain and Cognitive Sciences), and did postdoctoral study at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine before coming to UCSD in 1970 to join the nascent Psychiatry Department.

Dr. Squire investigates the organization and neurological foundations of memory. His work involves the study of neurological patients and rodents and combines the traditions of cognitive science and neuroscience. His publications include more than 500 research articles and two books: Memory and Brain (Oxford Press, 1987) and Memory: From Mind to Molecules with Eric Kandel (W.H. Freeman, 1999). He is also Senior Editor of the textbook, Fundamental Neuroscience, now in its 4th Edition and Editor-in-Chief of The History of Neuroscience in Autobiography (now in eight volumes). In 1993-1994, he served as President of the Society for Neuroscience. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences and served on its governing Council (2009-2012). He is also an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and The National Academy of Medicine. He is also a William James Fellow of the American Psychological Society and is a recipient of the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award from the American Psychological Association, the William Middleton Award from the Department of Veterans Affairs, the Charles A. Dana Award for Pioneering Achievements in Health, the McGovern Award (American Association for the Advancement of Science), the Metropolitan Life Award for Medical Research, the Karl Lashley Award (American Philosophical Society), the Herbert Crosby Warren Medal (Society of Experimental Psychologists), the Award for Scientific Reviewing (National Academy of Sciences), and the Goldman-Rakic Prize (Brain and Behavior Research Foundation).